Raven

2003-06-05 - 12:14 a.m.
A Noticable Pattern, Wednesday What-ifs, and Other Quizlets

feeling: much better since I am home from work
thinking: oh don't worry, you will soon find out in my entry
listening to: the never-ceasing rain - i think I have grown webbed-feet
currently reading: my buddies' diaries

I Am Noticing A Pattern

I am beginning to notice a pattern. Sudden bouts of illness. Every time I work the morning shift at my job, I get ill. It starts with a sudden headache, then shifts to nausea, and then I have a panic attack. I've been tracking this pattern since last September and the attacks are progressively getting worse (the panic attacks are the latest inclusion).

Before mid-September, I was staying constantly ill. One nasty case of bronchitis after another after another, within weeks of one another and in between constant intakes of antibiotics. My immune system was at an all time low. I began researching online for something to help me rebuild my immune system and came upon a product called Beta Glucan. This wonderous stuff is the protein derived from the cell wall of the wheat, rye or barely plant or the cell wall of the mushroom. The reasons we do not get enough of this product naturally is because it is in the shaft of the grains, which are usually shucked away during processing. From the mushroom, if it is cooked, it loses its potency. This important protein (which also happens to be a sugar compound) helps the body fight infections and wards off colds and flus. I ordered a supply of this product and began taking it in late September (when I was just beginning to get another bout of bronchitis) and within days of taking 500 mgs I was 100% better. I lowered my dosage to 200 mgs a day and have maintained that every day since. I have not had any cold, flu or bronchial symptons since September. However, I think this product has forced my body to recognize things that cause me to have an allergic reaction. I have discovered that red meat and pork make me deathly ill, dairy products cause me to gather too much mucous which makes me throw-up the dairy products (with the exception of some of the white cheeses, cottage cheese, ricota cheese, and skim milk), eggs make me ill as well. I can tolerate chicken and turkey in very small doses, and some seafood as well. For the most part, I have become a vegetarian. Other things that I have noticed are that certain smells make me ill. This brings me to the topic at hand.

Before February, I hadn't worked a lot of day shifts and because of that, I wasn't constantly at the counter waiting on customers. But since February, I have been pulling at least one or two morning shifts. This is the time of day that most people in the area are on their way to work and have doused themselves in tons of perfume, body lotions, and colognes. Needless to say, all of these scents have been wreaking havoc with my senses. In just the past month, I have gotten migraines, nausea, and panic attacks from working this closely with the public and their love of perfume baths. Today was one of those days.



Wednesday What-Ifs

Thanks to the busy server, I am late posting this:

1. What if you had to wear one item of clothing every single day for the rest of your life? well it would definitely NOT be a bra, maybe a nice comfy dress made of rayon or cotton though.

2. What if you had to stay in one town/city and never step foot outside its lines for the rest of your life? I would probably not mind that since I suffer from agoraphobia anyway.

3. What if you had to eat and drink only one kind of food and one kind of beverage for the rest of your life? hmmm, crisp clear water with a twist of lemon and garlic hummus - I could live off of those forever!

4. What if you had to pretend to be someone else for the rest of your life? oh dear, now that would be tough - I have a hard enough time just being ME most of the time, but if I had to pretend to be just one person for the rest of my life, I guess it would be a great writer with tons of books published..ha!

5. What if you could only have one of your five senses (touch, sight, hearing, smell, or taste) for the rest of your life? It would definitely be sight! The thought of never seeing another sunset or the ocean would drive me insane.



More Quizlets

1. Your name spelled backwards: Irol.

2. Where were your parents born? Covington Virginia and Low Moor Virginia

3. What is the last thing you downloaded onto your computer? An Adobe transcript called From Obscurity to Power about the rise of the Neocons in the Bush Administration

4. What's your favorite restaurant? Cara O'Cains.

5. Last time you swam in a pool? OMG, that was so long ago. The summer before I married my first husband. I was visiting my parents and waited til everyone had gone to bed, snuck down to the pool and went skinny dipping under the full moon - that was 18 years ago

6. Have you ever been in a school play? nope, theater was never a strong suit of mine.

7. How many kids do you want? Zero! Zilch! the Ravyne does not do children well.

8. Type of music you dislike most? I can tolerate most music, but what annoys me most is when people add too much base to their music and blare it from their cars, vibrating everything around them.

9. Are you registered to vote? yes, currently Independent.

10. Do you have cable? Oh yes, I would die without access to Sex and the City!

11. Have you ever ridden on a moped? Once with my ex-hubby. He got me off really quickly though because I have NO balance for such things.

12. Ever prank call anybody? It was a favorite summer pasttime as a kid.

13. Ever get a parking ticket? yes, for parking in the wrong direction on the street - I am a nonconformist and get one or two of these tickets a month

14. Would you go bungee jumping or sky diving? no, both involve heights - the Ravyne does not do heights well.

15. Furthest place you ever traveled. New York City or Georgia, I think they are both about the same distance away from me.

16. Do you have a garden? no, the landlord won't let me have one

17. What's your favorite comic strip? Rockwood Comic - great strip about these crazy people on board a space station.

18. Do you really know all the words to your national anthem? Actually I do. Had to learn them in grade school and have never forgotten them.

19. Bath or Shower, morning or night? I prefer showers, but love relaxing in a bath. I don't have a set time of day or night to bathe, it depends on what is going on.

20. Best movie you've seen in the past month? LOTR's Two Towers.

21. Favorite pizza topping? Spinach, black olives, feta cheese with a cream sauce - homemade, thank you very much!

22. Chips or popcorn? neither really, but if I had to chose, it would be chips - popcorn is too high maintainance for my teeth.

23. What color lipstick do you usually wear? rarely wear any, but occassionally wear Shimmering Bronze by Avon

24. Have you ever smoked peanut shells? Do people really do such a thing?

25. Have you ever been in a beauty pageant? no way

26. Orange Juice or apple? Apple Juice.

27. Who was the last person you went out to dinner with and where did you dine? My friend Lucy and we went to a sandwhich shop close by.

28. Favorite type chocolate bar? Snickers!

29. When was the last time you voted at the polls? The last Congressional race - 2002.

30. Last time you ate a homegrown tomato? Not since I lived at home with my folks, I think.

31. Have you ever won a trophy? a spelling bee trophy as a kid.

32. Are you a good cook? I don't like to brag, but yes, I am a really good cook.

33. Do you know how to pump your own gas? Oh yes!

34. Ever order an article from an infomercial? yes, I will admit to that one.

35. Sprite or 7-up? Sprite, if I must, but I prefer Mtn Dew.

36. Have you ever had to wear a uniform to work? I wear one every time I go to work, Yuck!

37. Last thing you bought at a pharmacy? hair-cutting sheers, Aussie Shampoo and Conditioner, City of Angels DVD.

38. Ever throw up in public? oh yes, in my drunken 20s.

39. Would you prefer being a millionaire or find true love? I already have true love and money doesn't mean that much to me.

40. Do you believe in love at first sight? Most definitely!

41. Ever call a 1-900 number? Nope, have no need for such things.

42. Can ex's be friends? Depends on how much embitterment is between the two and how long each holds grudges.

43. Who was the last person you visited in a hospital? My friend Melissa when they were holding her hostage til someone came to retrieve her.

44. Did you have a lot of hair when you were a baby? yes, coal-black hair which all fell out after a few months and thick blonde hair replaced it

45. What message is on your answering machine? You've reached Lori and Matt. We cannot come to the phone right now, but leave your name and number and a brief message and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

46. What's your all time favorite Saturday Night Live Character? hmmm, the Church Lady and the Cone Heads

47. What was the name of your first pet? My very first pet that was all mine was a fox terrier named Lady.

48. What is in your purse? Car keychain/card holder, pens, notepads, lip stick, eyeliner, make-up, mascara, coins, marriage liscense (just in case!), coupons, comb, hair thingies, check book, nail files, ephedrine pills, tummy pills, Aleve, lighters, spare pack of ciggies, a novel called Between Friends by Debbie Macomber, tampons, lip therapy ointment, stamps, and check stubs (did I mention the kitchen sink? - lol)

49. Favorite thing to do before bedtime? snuggle with my cat, Baabee.

50. What is one thing you are grateful for today? my hubby's love



Unconscious Mutterings

I say � and you think � ?

  1. Tattoo :: I want one but hubby says no

  2. Sunburn :: Not on this skin!

  3. Jaguar :: big huge cat!

  4. Trousers :: aren't those the things my grandparents wore?

  5. University :: Hollins U!

  6. Express :: Yourself! ohhh Madonna!

  7. Suicide :: living is so much more satisfying

  8. Slide :: Goo Goo Dolls

  9. Rain :: I am growing webbed feet now!

  10. Bulletin board :: decorated one too many in HS for Pep Rallies

0 Lovely People have contributed

Past Ramblings :: Future Ramblings



hosted by DiaryLand.com

~ Did You Miss These? ~

Wise Words to Live By - 2005-05-14
The Matrix: Ripped Off - 2005-05-12
Let's Here It For America's Youth!! - 2005-05-10
Splenda: The Newest Deadly Alternative - 2005-05-09
Damn Cellphone Users! - 2005-05-06



~WHAT'S NEW?~

The Lairatory: Stay Informed!
The Underground Files Forum
Ravyne's Wish List

~FEATURED SITES~

Voices for Africa
Tell J-9 You've Read It!
Chaos in Motion

~I SUPPORT THESE SITES~

~~ Artemis Waxing ~~




randomlist

Listed on Blogwise





My Bloginality is INFP!!!

read me please

~ Leave Your Mark! ~







Daily Cartoon provided by BravenetDaily Cartoon provided by Bravenet.com




moon phases


Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)
To see more details, click here.


New Design by Ravyne (yes, that would be me!)