Raven

2003-06-09 - 2:22 a.m.
Drop-Down Boxes, Monday Madness, Recipes, and Little Trinkets

feeling: very accomplished! w00t!
thinking: i can't believe I made it all on my own!
listening to: nothing in particular at the moment
currently reading: nothing at the moment

Drop-Down Boxes!

When I created my Rings page last night, I was a bit concerned about the time it took to load the whole page, but I wasn't sure what option I had for it. Then I get this note from Windy and she suggested that I go to Mommyvader's site and check out her solution for all her rings. DROP-DOWN BOX! Hurray! What an excellent suggestion! Then I thought, how in the hell am I gonna learn how to do that?!? So I clicked on the source of Mommyvader's page and copied the codes she used, but for some reason, I couldn't get her codes to work right on my site. So I found this neat little site called Tool Box that has an HTML code generator on it. All I had to do was plug in what I wanted and tada! the code was generated for me. Now I have a gorgeous drop-down box and all the pages have been separately created for each Alphabetized ring list. Go ahead, click on it (it's over there, to the right) and check out one of the ring pages! Thank you sooooo much Windy and Mommyvader!



Monday Madness

1. Who hosts your blog or personal website? If you don't have one, have you considered starting a blog? I now use Diaryland as the host to my blog site.

2. What prompted you to choose the color combination/background for your personal blog or website? I loved the simplicity of the white background and the gorgeous eyes on the template. I am still not 100% satisfied with it yet because it still doesn't fit my personality totally, so I am still searching for a new template.

3. Have you ever considered switching 'blog hosts/services'??

....and a bonus question because I need to know that my faithful participants will keep coming back after I move......... Actually I did switch sites. I used to have my hosted on Blogspot, but when I discovered that Google (the bane of all search engines!) bought Blogger, I decided to switch to Diaryland.

4. Will you visit Monday Madness at it's new "home?" Most definitely! This is actually my first time doing the Monday Madness, but I like it already and plan on coming back!



Something Yummy for the Tummy!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Recipe courtesy Wayne Harley Brachman
Show: Cooking Live Episode: Comfort Foods

Recipe Summary
Prep Time: 20 minutes Cook Time: 20 minutes
Yield: about 36 cookies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups rolled (old-fashioned) oats
1/2 cup coarsely chopped pecans
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Set 2 racks in the middle and upper thirds of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, oats, and pecans together with a whisk or fork.

In a large bowl, beat the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together for 30 seconds until blended. Beat in the egg until smooth and barely fluffy. With mixer running on medium high, drizzle in the maple syrup, and vanilla until incorporated. Turn the mixer down to its lowest setting and gradually add the flour-oatmeal mixture. Blend just to combine, then mix in the chocolate chips.

Drop walnut-sized balls of dough onto a nonstick or parchment-lined cookie sheet at 3-inch intervals. With moistened fingers, flatten and round out the cookies a little. Bake for 9 minutes, turning the pan once for even baking. The cookies are done when they are lightly browned on top. Set the cookie sheets on a rack to cool.



Little Trinkets

I love visiting other people's sites and thought I would share a few of them with you. This is a new review site and they are looking for submissions: HardlyKnown Reviews. Go on, get your site reviewed. You know you want to!

If you like a good debate and you are keeping up with the current political fervor, check out Genghis Jon's Great Big Political Debate Extraordinaire!

This site keeps me intrigued. There are so many links to check out, I can never seem to do it in one visit. Go check out Iconomy.

And if you didn't find enough links there to satisfy your mouse-clicking fingers, check out this site: Incoming Signals.

If you love music and you enjoy original lyricists, then go check out Jordon's site called Neverland.

And finally, if you love online roll playing with an erotic twist, go check out Silverwood-Forest. Please keep in mind that Silverwood-Forest is an adult roll playing site!

1 Lovely People have contributed

Past Ramblings :: Future Ramblings



hosted by DiaryLand.com

~ Did You Miss These? ~

Wise Words to Live By - 2005-05-14
The Matrix: Ripped Off - 2005-05-12
Let's Here It For America's Youth!! - 2005-05-10
Splenda: The Newest Deadly Alternative - 2005-05-09
Damn Cellphone Users! - 2005-05-06



~WHAT'S NEW?~

The Lairatory: Stay Informed!
The Underground Files Forum
Ravyne's Wish List

~FEATURED SITES~

Voices for Africa
Tell J-9 You've Read It!
Chaos in Motion

~I SUPPORT THESE SITES~

~~ Artemis Waxing ~~




randomlist

Listed on Blogwise





My Bloginality is INFP!!!

read me please

~ Leave Your Mark! ~







Daily Cartoon provided by BravenetDaily Cartoon provided by Bravenet.com




moon phases


Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)
To see more details, click here.


New Design by Ravyne (yes, that would be me!)