Raven

2003-05-16 - 6:12 a.m.
Computer Fiasco & the Attack of the Grammar Nazi

feeling: overwhelmed
thinking: why am I up so early?
listening to: last night's program on the Mike Malloy show
currently reading:When Worlds Collide

The Computer Fiasco

Tuesday evening, hubby decided to burn a CD of pictures so he could take it to the DVD player and view the pics on the wide-screen tv. Simple enough, huh? Should have been anyway. He goes to erase a current CD and the program freezes up. So instead of waiting for the program to close completely down, he reboots the computer in frustration. Bad move! When the computer comes back up, a lovely blue screen appears. Normally this isn't a problem. I just have to shut the computer all the way down, wait a minute or so and then reboot. Not this time! The blue screen remained like a bad freakin nightmare.

I called Dell support and the rep there, Hassan, walks me through every imaginable "fix" he knows and nothing works. So he has me run a diagnostic on the computer that he says should only take a couple of hours. Five plus hours later, it is finally finished, but by then, Hassan has gone home for the evening. I decide to wait til after work Wednesday to call back.

Wednesday afternoon I try to contact Hassan. No go. I reach some girl who tells me that she has to assign me to a tech to walk me through wiping my hard drive and reloading my OS. This cannot happen until Thursday though. So I get off the phone with her, close the diagnostic program and reboot the system. Surprise! It boots up fine and I am able to get into everything. I do not try to burn a CD though. Not sure I want to at this point. I finally get the awaited phone call from the tech support late yesterday evening. I explain to him what happened and we decide to just let things go for now. He gave me his personal extension and told me to call him IF I get a blue screen again.

So my computer is still somewhat unstable, but at least I haven't lost all my files that wouldn't fit on floppies.



Grammar Nazi Attack

A grammar nazi visited my political site late last night. Oh joy! I reread my entry and found only one word that was spelled incorrectly. Not bad for someone writing an entry late at night and trying to hold down a conversation in AIM. So I decided to check out this grammar nazi's site to see how perfection looks: autumnal. Now why am I not surprised to see grammar mistakes? Ok, maybe a flow-of-conscience writer shouldn't be concerned about good grammar (it would take away from the moment, right?), but that doesn't give this person the right to critcize someone else's work when she doesn't practice what she preaches. I do have to admit, for all her grammar mistakes, she is a great writer.

0 Lovely People have contributed

Past Ramblings :: Future Ramblings



hosted by DiaryLand.com

~ Did You Miss These? ~

Wise Words to Live By - 2005-05-14
The Matrix: Ripped Off - 2005-05-12
Let's Here It For America's Youth!! - 2005-05-10
Splenda: The Newest Deadly Alternative - 2005-05-09
Damn Cellphone Users! - 2005-05-06



~WHAT'S NEW?~

The Lairatory: Stay Informed!
The Underground Files Forum
Ravyne's Wish List

~FEATURED SITES~

Voices for Africa
Tell J-9 You've Read It!
Chaos in Motion

~I SUPPORT THESE SITES~

~~ Artemis Waxing ~~




randomlist

Listed on Blogwise





My Bloginality is INFP!!!

read me please

~ Leave Your Mark! ~







Daily Cartoon provided by BravenetDaily Cartoon provided by Bravenet.com




moon phases


Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)
To see more details, click here.


New Design by Ravyne (yes, that would be me!)